Hong Kong Sixes 2017

Four of international cricket’s 12 Test nations have confirmed to line-up for the Hong Kong World Sixes on October 28 and 29 at Kowloon Cricket Club.
The first teams confirmed to join hosts Hong Kong in the eight-team tournament include Australia, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and South Africa.

History will also be made with the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) taking part for the first time as part of their initiative to grow the game in China. 

The MCC are owners of the iconic Lord’s Cricket Ground and have been the guardian of the laws of cricket since 1788. 

The remaining participating teams will be announced shortly.

Tickets are available via Ticketflap (https://www.ticketflap.com/hksixes) with early bird specials for two-day weekend pass tickets priced at $1,000 for 23 matches of world-class cricket played over two days in the bucolic confines of the Kowloon Cricket Club.  

Want to get involved in the Sixes? Contact max.abbott@hkcricket.org for sponsorship and corporate box information/reservations
The early bird window will close on 6 October, after which adult weekend passes will increase to $1,200.

Adult single day tickets are $600 on Saturday and $700 on Sunday, while a limited number of children’s tickets will be on offer for youth aged 12 and under - priced at $350 for a daily ticket and $600 for a weekend package while supplies last. 

Individual hospitality packages are also available for sale in the new Peroni Boundary club with lunch and free flow beverages provided by Peroni, the official beer of the Hong Kong World Sixes 2017.
“We are excited to welcome both test nations and our first ever club side to take part in the Sixes, particularly an iconic club like MCC, with its prestigious cricket history,” said Cricket Hong Kong Director Jonathan Cummings.

“Fans at the ground are in for a weekend of non-stop action and this is just the start of something much bigger for the sport here. We hope to add a number of emerging nations to the tournament in future years once the event is ready to take that step.
“We see what Rugby and the Sevens have done in helping the game grow in new markets around the world, and that’s something we believe that we can do with the Sixes format for years to come,” Cummings added.
Teams will be split into two pools of four with all of the preliminary matches to be played on the Saturday (28 Oct.) and the finals matches to be played on the Sunday (29 Oct.).
Fulfilling their promise to reinvent the format for ‘Sixes 2.0’, the organizers are pleased to announce that for the first time ever the Hong Kong World Sixes will be broadcast over both television and digital platforms.


The rules of Sixes cricket are very simple and quite different to any other format of the game.

  • Games are played between two teams of six players, and each game consists of a maximum of five six-ball overs bowled by each side.
  • Each member of the fielding side bowls one over, with the exception of the wicket-keeper.
  • Wides and no-balls count as two runs.
  • If five wickets fall before 5 overs are completed, the last remaining batsman bats on with the fifth batsman acting as a runner. He always takes strike. The innings is complete when the sixth wicket falls.
  • Batsmen retire not out on reaching 31 runs. The idea being to reach 36 runs by hitting 6 sixes. A retired batsman can return to the crease after lower-order batsmen either retire or are out.