04 Jun 2018

Cricket Hong Kong Men’s Squad 2018-19

The 2018-19 season promises to be another crucial 12 months for Cricket Hong Kong as Hong Kong will compete in a host of high profile tournaments including; The Asia Cup Qualifiers, Asia Cup, Emerging teams Cup and World Cricket League Division 2.

A Total of 47 players have been selected across the Men’s squads, including Men’s, Men’s A, and Men’s overseas squad. A diversified approach has been taken by the selectors to select players, based on talent, leadership, commitment, x-factor, opportunity and availability,” 

The Men’s squad have 14 contracted players with Cricket Hong Kong, 13 players have been retained from the 2017-18 squad, while middle order batsman Ahsan Abbasi of USRC Millennium Cricket Club will be the only new addition to the contracted players.

Keeping an eye on the future, the selectors have added a number of exciting young players to the Men’s squad: Aftab Hussain, Muhammad Umar, Rana Nasrulla and Haroon Arshad. All four players have performed well over the last 12-18 months in domestic competitions and have shown promising signs when touring with the squad.
The Selectors have decided not to include players in squads who are unable to train regularly due to their work commitments”

The Men’s National A squad will have the most number of new faces as selectors have decided to identify youth players for the future and focusing on players with specific skill sets. In addition to this as more and more Hong Kong players are going abroad for studies, the selectors have decided to have a separate Men’s overseas squad with many of these players competing in a wide range of leagues, county and state competitions

Tabarak Dar (Chairman of Selectors) is confident that the expended squads “will give us enough flexibility and variety when choosing National teams in the near future” and is very much looking forward to the team performing well over the next 12 months.

Hong Kong Men’s National Squad 
Ahsan Abbasi (USRC/MCC) – Contracted 
Tanwir Afzal (Pakistan Assoc.) – Contracted 
Nadeem Ahmed (DLSWCC) – Contracted 
Tanveer Ahmed (HKCC) – Contracted
Haroon Arshad (DLSWCC)
Christopher Carter (KCC) –Contracted 
Kyle Christie (Midland Guildford) – Contracted
Babar Hayat (DLSWCC) – Contracted 
Aftab Hussain (DLSWCC)
Aizaz Khan (KCC) – Contracted
Ehsan Khan (DLSWCC) –Contracted
Nizakat Khan (HKCC) – Contracted
Waqas Khan (DLSWCC) – Contracted 
Scott McKechnie (KCC)
Adil Mehmood (HKCC)
Umar Mohammad (USRC) 
Ehsan Nawaz (HKCC) – Contracted 
Nasrulla Rana (Pakistan Assoc.)
Anshuman Rath (HKCC) –Contracted 
Kinchit Shah (KCC) 
Ninad Shah (KCC) 
Shahid Wasif (DLSWCC) – Contracted 

Hong Kong Overseas Players Squad 
Raag Kapur (HKCC) 
Giacomo Lamplough (HKCC/Parnell CC)
Cameron McAuslan (HKCC)
Wajid Shah (Kent CCC)
Tej Sheopuri (HKCC) 
Kabir Sodhi (HKCC)
Jhathavedh Subramanyan (HKCC)

Hong Kong Men’s National ‘A’ Squad
Aarush Bhagwat (KCC)
Ashley Caddy (KCC) 
Kalhan Challu (KCC) 
Adit Gorawara (KCC)
Mohammad Kamran (PACC) 
Hamed Khan (PACC) 
Hassan Khan (PACC) 
Mohsin Khan (DLSWCC)
Jason Lui (CHK Dragons)
Li Kai Ming (CHK Dragons) 
Ghanzafer Mohammad (DLSWCC) 
Mohammad Osama (DLSWCC) 
Vishal Sharma (KCC)
Daljeet Singh (KCC) 
Deepinder Singh (KCC)
Simandeep Singh (KCC) 
Ken Tsang (CHK Dragons)
Daniel Butt (USRC)