05 Dec 2018

Hong Kong U-19s set to depart for Thailand for the ICC U19 CWC Qualifiers Asia Division 2!

The Hong Kong Under-19s are set to depart for Thailand this Friday, where they will take part in the ICC U-19 Cricket World Cup Qualifiers Asia Division 2 starting Sunday this week!

Grouped alongside China, Maldives, Bahrain and Kuwait in Group B, the Hong Kong side aim to reach the finals, which will then guarantee them a spot in the Asia Division 1 qualifiers in 2019 (date and location TBC). Saudi Arabia, Oman, Bhutan, Qatar and hosts Thailand are other teams taking part in Group A. All games will be the 50-over format, with the top 2 teams from each group progressing to the Semi-Finals.

The Hong Kong squad features several players that took part in the recent U-19 Asia Cup in Bangladesh, with Ayush Shukla, Munir Khan, Mehran Zeb, Urslan Abdul and Rahul Sharma selected to represent the U-19s for the first time. 16-year old Adit Gorawra will captain the side, with 15-year old Kalhan Challu named as vice-captain. Mark Farmer and Richard Waite will accompany the side as Head and Assistant Coaches, with Simon Cook set to join the squad during the tour.

Head coach Mark Farmer had the following to say about the tour:

“This tournament is the first step in qualifying for the Under 19 Cricket World Cup in 2020. Like any tournament it is about taking it one game at a time and putting consistent performances together.

Adit Gorawara will lead the side having previously lead the Under 16 side last year. He will will have plenty of experience around him with the likes of Aarush, Kalhan and Nasrulla all of which have recently been on both age group and National A tours.

It will be the first CHK tour for the likes of Ayush Shukla, Rahul Sharma and Mehran Zeb who have been rewarded for their hard work and strong club performances.”

Hong Kong U-19 Squad:

1)     Adit Gorawara – Captain – Kowloon Cricket Club
2)     Kalhan Challu – Vice Captain – Kowloon Cricket Club
3)     Ayush Shukla – Hong Kong Cricket Club
4)     Mohammad Hassan – Diasqua Little Sai Wan Cricket Club
5)     Mohammad Hassan Khan – Hong Kong Cricket Club
6)     Munir Khan – Diasqua Little Sai Wan Cricket Club
7)     Vikas Sharma – Kowloon Cricket Club
8)     Dhananjay Rao – Diasqua Little Sai Wan Cricket Club
9)     Urslan Abdul – Diasqua Little Sai Wan Cricket Club
10)  Aarush Bhagwat – Kowloon Cricket Club
11)  Mehran Zeb – Diasqua Little Sai Wan Cricket Club
12)  Rahul Sharma – Hong Kong Cricket Club
13)  Nasrulla Rana – Pakistan Association Cricket Club
14)  Daniyal Butt – United Services Recreation Club

Head Coach: Mark Farmer
Assistant Coach: Richard Waite
Physio: Max Yeung

The team will depart from Hong Kong for Chiang Mai, where all their group stage games will be played, on Friday 7th December. Their first game will be against China on Sunday 9th December at the Prem Tinsulanoda International School ground. All games are scheduled for a 9:30 AM start local time (10:30 AM HKT).


Sunday 9th December – Hong Kong vs China @ Prem Tinsulanoda International School
Monday 10th December – Hong Kong vs Kuwait @ ChiangMai Gymkhana
Wednesday 12th December – Hong Kong vs Bahrain @ ChiangMai Gymkhana
Friday 14th December – Hong Kong vs Maldives @ Prem Tinsulanoda International School

The Semi-Finals are scheduled for Sunday 16th December at Terdthai Cricket Ground and Asian Institute of Technology Ground in Bangkok, with the Finals and 3rd/4th play-offs happening on Monday 17th December at the same venues.

Hong Kong umpires Ian Thomson and Tabark Dar will also be present, having been selected by the ICC to stand in the tournament.

This is an important tour for the Hong Kong U-19s, and you can follow our various social media channels for live updates and match results. Be sure to tune in and show your support!