19 Dec 2016

Hong Kong announce squad for Desert T20 tournament in UAE

Hong Kong have announced a 14-man squad for January's Desert T20, which will involve seven T20i Associate & Affiliate nations (UAE, Ireland, Scotland, Afghanistan, Netherlands, Oman & HKG) and Namibia from the 8th – 21st January.

The Hong Kong Squad will then remain in Dubai for two One Day Internationals (ODIs) against Scotland and UAE as well as one 50 over match against a local rep XI. The ODI's will be in preparation for the ICC WCLC round against The Netherlands back in Hong Kong in February. The squad will return to Hong Kong on the 27th January.

Director of Cricket and selector Charlie Burke said.

"This concept has been spoken about for over year as a tournament for Associates to get together each year. The Emirates Cricket Board have put up their hand to host it and the plan is to have the format as whatever is suitable for that particular year. With the World T20 every four years its an oppotunity to all the Associates to play each other and climb the global rankings"

"As for our squad, it's great to have Cameron McAulsan, a good young all-rounder who has been doing well at school in New Zealand and going to be a very crucial player for us going forward. He's a great all-round athlete and been close to selection for some time now."

"Waqas Barkat has gone back and done what's been asked, which is to work on his leg spin and he will be useful batsman in the middle order. He was a top order batsman previously for us but struggled for runs and developed his bowling. There's not a lot of leg-spinners around so we challenged him to work on it and that should be his focus. He's done well and has been very economical this season."

Anshuman Rath and Ehsan Nawaz are also back in the squad after being unavailable for the Australian Tour due to study committments.

Tanwir Afzal (fractured finger), Mark Chapman (Auckland cricket) and Jamie Atkinson (work) remain unavailable for selection but all are expected to return for the series against the Netherlands in February.

1.  Nadeem Ahmed (DLSWCC)
2.  Tanveer Ahmed (KCC)
3.  Waqas Barkat (KCC)
4.  Chris Carter (KCC)
5.  Kyle Christie (CHK Independents XI)
6.  Babar Hayat (Captain) (DLSWCC)
7.  Aizaz Khan (V. Captain) (KCC)
8.   Ehsan Khan (DLSWCC)
9.   Nizakat Khan (HKCC)
10. Waqas Khan (DLSWCC)
11. Cameron McAuslan (HKCC)
12. Ehsan Nawaz (KCC)
13. Anshuman Rath (HKCC)
14. Shahid Wasif (DLSWCC)

Coach: Simon Cook
Asst Coach: Jawaid Iqbal
Analyst: Chris Pickett
Physio: Sarah Whitehead