Subscribe to our Newsletter for news and updates about Cricket in Hong Kong!

Women's Cricket

Women’s cricket was first played in Hong Kong in 2001 and the first Women’s League was formed in 2004-05 season with teams from Hong Kong Cricket Club, Kowloon Cricket Club, and Lamma Cricket Club competing. The league expanded to five teams in the 2005-06 season and then to six teams in 2006-07.

Today there are two major formats being played – the Women’s League is a 35-over competition featuring 5 teams and the Women’s Twenty20 Cup which contains 7 teams. In both competitions teams play each other twice to determine the champions. There is also a Women's Sixes tournament which features all 10 teams played over 2 days and a newly introduced Women’s development league with another 5 teams that participate in an 8-a-side pairs cricket format.

Over 50% of the women playing in today’s competitions are Chinese.

The best players from the women’s cricket competitions are invited to join Cricket Hong Kong Elite squads from which the Hong Kong Women’s team is selected. The squad play each other in trial matches, with the competition called the Women’s Premier League in the lead up to major International tournaments.

Clubs fielding women's teams in our domestic leagues. Get involved today!

Clubs for Senior Women's Teams