Subscribe to our Newsletter for news and updates about Cricket in Hong Kong!

Dragons player Jason Lui named in Hong Kong's squad for Australian Tour

05 December 2016

Hong Kong have announced a 14-man squad for the upcoming tour of Australia, with matches scheduled against Big Bash League teams Sydney Thunder and Sydney Sixes.

The squad includes new face Jason Lui, who has been selected from the Cricket Hong Kong Dragons team that recently toured Japan for the East Asia Cup.

"I am both excited and nervous to be able to represent Hong Kong again in the upcoming Australia tour," Lui said.

"I believe this will be a good chance to improve and develop my skills in cricket, it will also be a chance to get a taste of Hong Kong team’s culture. I hope to contribute to the team both on and off the field."

"Being selected for the team also shows recognition to Chinese cricket development. Ming, whose performance increased since coming back from playing for Sydney Sixers last year shows who much the Dragons players have room for improvement.”

Dragons coach Chris Pickett said Lui had the ability to perform at the highest level and believed his game would improve sharply from the experience of the tour.

"Jason is a very talented player coming back into the fold with the Dragons last year and has immediately made an impact,"

"He's contributed well with the bat and is one of the more gifted players in the Chinese set-up and has a good knowledge of the game"

"For Jason it will be the first time in the top echelon of the National Squad so it will be a huge learning curve but he's got the potential to do well."

"There will be some new stuff and eye openers but that's the same for anyone coming into that system."

"The Dragons have come on a long way in the last two years so I think it strengthens the resolve of what we are doing in that aspect and for local cricket. We are unearthing players and developing future players and won't be surprised if there are more to come in the next few years - particularly for the Asian Games in 2018."

The team will once again be skippered by Babar Hayat, but the team will be out Anshuman Rath who is unavailable due to study commitments.

The squad will fly out on Thursday 8th of December, with the first of two matches against Sydney Thunder taking place on the 11th in Orange.

The team will then play two one day matches against a NSW 2nd XI team in Sydney before heading north to Coffs Harbour to play against Sydney Sixers on the 16th of December.


1. Babar Hayat © (DLSWCC)

2. Aizaz Khan (vc) (KCC)

3. Tanwir Afzal (PACC)

4. Nadeem Ahmed (DLSWCC)

5. Tanveer Ahmed (KCC)

6. Christopher Carter (KCC)

7. Ehsan Khan (DLSWCC)

8. Nizakat Khan (HKCC)

9. Waqas Khan (DLSWCC)

10. Jason Lui (CHK Dragons)

11. Kyle Christie (CHK XI)

12. Kinchit Shah (KCC)

13. Karandeep Singh (DLSWCC)

14. Shahid Wasif (DLSWCC)