Subscribe to our Newsletter for news and updates about Cricket in Hong Kong!

Secondary Schools League 2017-18

11 June 2018

Secondary Schools Leagues 2017-18

This season’s Secondary Schools Leagues ran from October 2017 to late May 2018. The Senior Boys and Junior Boys leagues featured two pool each – 7 teams per pool for the Juniors and 8 teams for the Seniors. The top 2 teams from each pool in the Juniors then played each other in the semi-finals and finals, while the top team from each Senior Boys pool faced off directly in the final. The Girls League featured four teams, who played each other in two round-robin stages, before the top 2 teams faced off in a final. All games were T20 format, and the Girls and Junior Boys played predominantly at PKVR Reservoir, with the Senior Boys playing mostly at Mission Road and PKVR Park. Despite struggles with ground availability and school schedules, the enthusiasm from all those involved ensured we were able to provide hundreds of kids the opportunity to play and represent their schools, as CHK’s school league program continues to grow and develop.

Girls League

4 teams took part in this season’s girls secondary school league – DMS Broadway, DMS Glee Path, Caritas Tuen Mun and Sir Ellis Kadoorie. After 2 round-robin stages, two clear contenders for the finals emerged. DMS BW and DMS GP each lost just one out of their 6 games – against each other – and when the final rolled around on 12th December there was plenty of anticipation. Ultimately it was DMS BW who emerged victorious – batting first, young national prospects Iqra Sahar (60*) and Maryam Bibi (41*) combined to take them to an imposing 197/1 in their 20 overs. This was to be too much for DMS GP, who ended their innings at 121/4 – Maryam (1/26), Iqra (2/16) and skipper Harsha (1/19) taking all 4 wickets between them.

Junior Boys League

13 different schools took part in the Junior Boys League this season, and it was extremely close competition at the top of each pool. In Pool A, King George V an DMS Broadway each picked up 5 wins in their 6 games to make it through to the semis. BW’s only loss was to KGV, while KGV dropped a game to third place DMS Hip Wo, who narrowly missed out on a semi final spot with 4 wins in their 6 games. In Pool B it was West Island School and DMS Glee Path who emerged as table toppers – Glee Path being unbeaten, and accounting for West Island’s only loss of the season.

DMS GP’s fantastic season came to an end in the first semi final – KGV successful defending 100/6 by bowling them out for just 76 runs. Meanwhile DMS BW successfully defended 134– Usman Munir following up his 59 in the first innings with 4-0-13-1 in the second as WIS were restricted to just 88/7. Both Pool A teams were to rematch in the grand final, held at PKVR Reservoir on 2nd May. KGV batted first and posted up 126/4 in their 20 overs – built around Aarush Bhagwat’s 83*. The runchase went right down to the wire, and DMS BW found themselves needing 13 to win off the final over. Ryan Gilkilson delivered that over, and held his nerve, conceding just 10 runs from it, and securing the Secondary School Junior Boys League title for KGV.

Senior Boys League

15 schools took part in the Senior Boys league, and there was plenty of exciting cricket on display. The competition to finish top of each Pool and to qualify for the finals was intense. In Pool A, Salesians of Don Bosco Ng Siu Mui and King George V both finished on 26 points after 7 games, which meant it came down to who had the superior NRR – SDB with 1.472 narrowly edging past KGV’s 1.215. They were deserving finalists – unbeaten with 6 wins (including one over KGV) and 1 abandoned fixture. KGV lost 2 of their games (the second loss to DMS GP) but picked up a couple of bonus points to keep them in contention. In Pool B, DMS Broadway finished as table toppers with 30 points, 3 points clear of second placed Islamic Kasim Tuet Memorial College. However, the competition was tight – DMS BW’s only loss was against IKTMC in the first game of the season, and IKTMC themselves were unbeaten until their very last fixture, which they lost to Caritas Tuen Mun.

That result meant DMS BW achieved the impressive feat of qualifying for all three finals – and on May 29th they had a shot at winning their second title. SDB won the toss at PKVR Park and elected to bat first, but were bowled out for 101 in the 20th over. It proved to be insufficient despite a spirited bowling effort, and DMS BW were able to cross the line in the final over for the loss of 7 wickets. ‘Raja’ Hassan Mohammad was the star for DMS BW – top scoring with 38* in the runchase (the next highest score all game was 14), and bowling 4 overs for just 19 runs in the first innings.

Congratulations to DMS Broadway for emerging as Girls and Senior Boys champions (and qualifying for all three finals), and to KGV for finished as Junior Boys champions. A big thanks to everyone who took part, your efforts and support are appreciated. We hope all participants enjoyed themselves, and we look forward to your support next season.