Subscribe to our Newsletter for news and updates about Cricket in Hong Kong!

The Hong Kong Squad announced for ICC Women’s T20 Cricket World Cup Qualifiers – Asia Region

21 October 2021

HK Women at the East Asia Cup in 2019
HK Women at the East Asia Cup in 2019

Cricket Hong Kong has announced the 14 players to represent Hong Kong at the ICC Women’s T20 Cricket World Cup Qualifiers – Asia Region to be held in Dubai, UAE from the 18th November – 29th November, 2021.

The tournament will be the first international competition for the squad since the team competed in the East Asia Cup in 2019.

There are several new faces in the squad with Heiley Lui and Iqra Sahar being selected for their first tournament for Hong Kong. The squad also sees the return of Natasha Miles who last represented Hong Kong in 2006. Miles has been playing in the county and Kia Super League competitions in the United Kingdom.

Head coach Chris Pickett had this to say, “The players have worked incredibly hard over the last two years. It’s been a long time since our last international cricket so I am incredibly excited to take this squad to the WCQ and see them have a chance to express their skills on the international stage. We have a great balance in the squad with plenty of experience, and having Natasha and her experience is only going to add value to the environment.”

The squad members returning to Hong Kong will complete 21-days quarantine. General Manager Mark Farmer had this to say “The commitment shown by the squad to make themselves available despite the quarantine and extended time away from work, family and study is incredible. It gives a glimpse of the passion that our players have for both cricket and representing Hong Kong on the global stage.”

The Hong Kong Women’s Squad is sponsored by healthcare group, Gencor Pacific Ltd. Gencor have sponsored the Hong Kong Women’s squad since 2019.

Kary Chan
Kary Chan has been named captain of the team

The Hong Kong Squad for ICC Women’s T20 Cricket World Cup Qualifiers – Asia Region is as follow:

Kary Chan - (Captain) - (Craigengower CC)
Alison Siu (HKCC)
Betty Chan (HKCC)
Emma Lai (HKCC)
Heiley Lui (Craigengower CC)
Iqra Sahar (LSWCC)
Lemon Cheung (HKCC)
Maryam Bibi (LSWCC)
Mariko Hill (HKCC)
Natasha Miles (UK)
Ruchitha Venkatesh (HKCC)
Shanzeen Shahzad (LSWCC)
Tammy Chu (Craigengower CC)
Yasmin Daswani (HKCC/ Spencer CC (UK)

Apart from Hong Kong, Bhutan, Malaysia, UAE, Nepal and Kuwait will also take part in the six team tournament with only one team qualifying for the next round towards qualifying for the 2023 Women’s T20 World Cup.