Subscribe to our Newsletter for news and updates about Cricket in Hong Kong!

Women’s cricket was first played in Hong Kong in 2001 and the first Women’s League was formed in 2004-05 season with teams from Hong Kong Cricket Club, Kowloon Cricket Club, and Lamma Cricket Club competing. The league expanded to five teams in the 2005-06 season and then to six teams in 2006-07.

Today there are 9 teams competing in two different formats. The Women’s T20 League splits the 9 teams into two divisions. The four teams in Division 1 play each other three times, while the five teams in Division 2 play each other twice. The top placed Div 2 side will then play against the bottom ranked Div 1 side in a promotion play-off, while the other three Div 1 teams will play an eliminator and a final to determine the champion. The Women's T10 Cup has all 9 teams playing in single round robin tournament, with the top 4 teams competing in semi-finals and finals.

The best players from the women’s cricket competitions are invited to play in the Women's Premier League, which pits the Jade Jets against the Bauhinia Stars in a number of 40-Over and T20 games over the season. These games are usually scheduled in the lead up to major International tournaments.

There is also a Women’s Development League, with 8 teams playing 8-a-side pairs cricket format. Players who have represented Hong Kong, or that have been selected for the WPL are ineligible to play in the WDL. WDL matches are usually scheduled for when the national Women's side are away competing, or alongside the WPL matches.

Around 50% of the women playing in today’s competitions are Chinese, with a large percentage of players under the age of 25.

Women's T20 League CricHQ Page

Women's T10 Cup CricHQ Page
Women's Premier League CricHQ Page
Women's Development League CricHQ Page

Last updated: 2nd Sept 2020