Subscribe to our Newsletter for news and updates about Cricket in Hong Kong!

Hong Kong, China selectors announce Hong Kong, China and Hong Kong, China "A" team for One Day Tri Series and One Day Bilateral Series

19 January 2024

Cricket Hong Kong, China selectors have announced the squad for the upcoming Hong Kong Men’s One Day Series to be played at Tin Kwong Road Recreation Ground from the 31st January to 5th February 2024, as well as the One Day Bilateral Series against Malaysia from 6th February to 9th February.

The Hong Kong Men’s One Day Series will feature Hong Kong, China, Canada, and Malaysia, where three teams will face off against the other once in a round-robin format, followed by a final between the top two teams on 4th February. The 3rd place team will play a game against Hong Kong, China ‘A’ on the 5th of February. The squad for the Hong Kong, China “A” team has also been announced

Nizakat Khan, captain of the Hong Kong, China Men’s Team, will be leading the team alongside vice-captain Yasim Murtaza with several new faces; Daniyal Bukhari will make his debut, while Raunaq Kapur, Dan Pascoe and Ehsan Nawaz will return to the squad.

The Hong Kong, China ‘A’, meanwhile, consists of the best upcoming cricketers in Hong Kong, aiming to give opportunity for players to impress the selectors in international cricket. Jason Lui, Captain of the CHK Dragons, is being named in the “A” squad and will look to carry on his good form from League Cricket

“One of my first assignments with Team Hong Kong, China was the One Day Series held in March 2023 and we enjoyed some great performances by the team resulting in winning the trophy. We are very much looking forwards to another One Day series in Hong Kong and I know the players cannot wait to show off their skills in front of our home fans!” said Simon Willis, Head coach of the Hong Kong, China Men’s Team. “There are some new faces in the squad with players being rewarded for their performances in local cricket and I hope they can see this One Day Series as an opportunity to display their ability in international cricket.”

Nizakat Khan, captain of the Hong Kong, China Men’s Team said, “The boys can’t wait to kick start the 2024 campaign with a Home Series! We are excited to see new players coming in the team and this is how we keep ourselves on our toes to ensure we perform to keep our spots in the Hong Kong, China team. We have been facing each other's a lot in the CHK Premier League and we look forward to playing ODI Team Canada and Malaysia in the upcoming One Day Series.”

The Hong Kong Men’s One Day Series will be broadcast around the world live with fans being able to watch the action either on the CHK’s YouTube page or on FanCode in India.

Hong Kong, China Squad One Day Squad:

1. Nizakat Khan (Captain)
2. Yasim Murtaza (Vice-Captain)
3. Adit Gorawara
4. Aizaz Khan
5. Anshuman Rath
6. Ayush Shukla
7. Babar Hayat
8. Dan Pascoe
9. Daniyal Bukari
10. Ehsan Khan
11. Ehsan Nawaz
12. Haroon Arshad
13. Martin Coetzee
14. Nasrulla Rana
15. Raunaq Kapur* - Only for the One Day Tri-Series
16. Zeeshan Ali

Hong Kong, China “A” Squad:

1. Akbar Khan
2. Ali Hassan Jnr
3. Anas Khan
4. Ateeq ul Rehman Iqbal
5. Daniyal Bhukari
6. Haroon Arshad
7. Jason Lui
8. Luke Jones
9. Raag Kapur
10. Shahid Wasif
11. Sheryar Khan
12. Shiv Mathur